“Follow me as I follow Christ” – Apostle Paul

May 15, 2009 at 20:39 (Completely Random)

A while back, I was listening to a sermon and a thought popped into my head. The preacher was emphasizing how the disciples, when Jesus called them, dropped everything they were doing, and I thought, why? I mean, it seems weird that someone would leave their family business, in the middle of a work day, and follow someone just because He asked them to. You have to keep in mind that at this point Jesus was not well known, some people knew of Him, but He had just started His ministry. The only people who believed that He was the Messiah at this point were His mother Mary and His cousin John. So what reason would they have to follow a random Rabbi?

A couple connections were made pretty quickly, when I first wondered why. The first thing I remembered was that at Portland Bible College they talked about how it was common practice among Rabbi’s in the time of Jesus for them to gather disciples, but normally from the synagogues. Then I thought, would I drop everything for a great teacher, because if nothing else Jesus was known as an exceptional Rabbi, if they asked me to follow them? And surprising even myself, I thought yes I would. If C.S. Lewis or J.R.R. Tolkien or John Piper or Sean McDowell or pretty much any person who is or was considered a good teacher/apologist asked me to follow them and learn from them/with them I would more than likely sell everything I didn’t need and do it, minimal questions asked.

The last thought that hit me, like a freight truck, was that Jesus has called me to follow Him. And yet why am I so unwilling to go to the lengths I would go to for a fallible teacher? I know that Jesus is the only teacher worth following, He’s called me to give up my possesions and follow Him, but I greedily hold on. I pray that He’ll give me strength to give everything to Him.

3 Comments

  1. workplaythink said,

    Thanks. I needed that.

  2. tiffani said,

    That’s cool Cori.

  3. Edward said,

    another thing to consider is this

    if you where working a blue collar job like that, then you had already been rejected as a talmed (spelling?), a student of a Rabbi who would eventually become a Rabbi.

    Joshua was going up to rejects and accepting them saying “some other guy didn’t want you, some other guy didn’t think you where good enough to be his student, but I accept you, I think you would make a great student”

    that dramatic 180 in the way a great teacher looks at you would cause an instant vocation change

Leave a Reply

